Tag Archives: all blacks

England 6 – 32 New Zealand

That’s a scoreline to lift any Munster rugby follower’s heart. Not because it was England that were beaten by New Zealand. Not because Munster came closer to beating the all-conquering All Blacks than any of the full International sides. It’s because all these score-lines have one thing in common:

  • England 6 – 32 New Zealand
  • Wales 9 – 29 New Zealand
  • Ireland 3 – 22 New Zealand
  • Scotland 6 – 32 New Zealand

Not one of the Home Nations scored a try against the All Blacks. But Munster did.

Round these parts it will be remembered for one of the greatest games to have ever taken place in Thomond Park, it will be remembered as the night that Barry Murphy scored the only try conceded by the All Blacks on their Grand Slam tour.

“In 1978, Munster supporters left Thomond Park amazed that they had beaten the All Blacks. In 2008, Munster supporters left Thomond Park amazed that they had lost to the All Blacks”.

Munster Squad to Face New Zealand Named

On Tuesday the 18th November 2008, a new piece of history will be written in Thomond Park. New Zealand will play Munster to commemorate the opening of the new Thomond Park. As it happens, it’s also 30 years since New Zealand were beaten 12 – 0 by Munster. You may have heard about it.

The question on everyone’s lips is will we do it again. No matter what my heart says, my head says “No”. With the Ireland – New Zealand test on the Saturday before, and with Argentina to follow the week after, there’s a distinct lack of first team players available, especially in the pack. (Though I have to say that our back line looks strong).

Despite the fact that the match will be played between two second-string teams, I think it’s going to be a great occasion. For the lads in red, it’s going to be a tough game, but there’s no doubt that they’ll show the All Blacks just how tough they can be.

The Munster Squad vs New Zealand:
Federico Pucciariello, Timmy Ryan, Dave Ryan, Frank Sheahan, Denis Fogarty, Donncha Ryan, Mark Melbourne, James Coughlan, John O’Sullivan, Niall Ronan, Justin Melck, Billy Holland Barry Murphy, Kieran Lewis, Brian Carney, Anthony Horgan, Doug Howlett, Lifeimi Mafi, Rua Tipoki, Paul Warwick, Jeremy Manning, Conor Murray, Mike Prendergast.